IMG_2574

IMG_2575

Z for Zachariah by Robert C. O’Brien
Through the scary/amazing power of Twitter and the Bookternet. From what I heard about the book it’s everything I’ve been looking for in a genre book; Strong female protagonist surviving well on her own in a post-apocalyptic world.

Rot & Ruin (book 1) by Jonathan Maberry
Another Post-Apocalyptic story. Zombies and teens surviving seems pretty standard but where many other books make that the entire plot of the story; for this book it’s only the starting point. The world of this book has already adapted to living with a Zombie menace. It’s a tale about growing up in a world with a constant zombie presence and —worst joining the family business as Zombie-exterminators. I intend to write a follow-up on the story after I get around to reading it.

The House Of The Scorpion by Nancy Farmer
My last purchase was a book that I had already read previously as a child a little more than a decade ago. It was called The House of The Scorpion by Nancy Farmer. I went to school down here in Eastern North Carolina as a child for about a year and a half. During that time I joined the Battle of The Books; a reading competition. House of The Scorpion was on the book lists and though the finer details have gotten hazy I remember it being a fascinating reads, one of those books whose world I slipped under the surface-warm and comfortable like floating under water in a hot bath. Featuring cloning, body farming and intrigue it was engaging and smart while moody and terrifying. I’m anxious to re-read a book that had kept me up for days reading to the very end.

All of my purchases were made at the local Books-A-Million, a smaller scale chain bookstore. Its nice like most bookstores but the downside of moving to a small town is that most of the stores are too far to walk. The nearest indie bookstore is a decent car ride.

