Tags

, ,

I know that I probably should have posted this the first week of January when I wrote it but we only just now managed to get internet for the house yesterday, which is the first time in a decade that my grandparents ever had wifi in their house so a little leeway is in order.

Ah 2014.

Nationally probably not a year to be remembered fondly but some good things came about socially especially in the book world. Specifically the We Need Diverse Books campaign that–if trends are to be believed— are causing the publishing world to take extra care in insuring that the voices on the shelves are come from more than one perspective. From various authors blogs the movement certainly had a resonance in the type of characters they set out to portray.

Personally, 2014 was the year I started back to reading, in fact it was the year I purchased more books than probably prudent but I surely won’t need to visit the library again anytime soon. Emphasis on need not want because my new local library which I was familiar with from previous visits is simply amazing.

2014 was the year I began being social with my wonderful coworkers only for me to unfortunately have to leave them due to my move. I packed up and left my home state of New York in December for a small town in eastern North Carolina with my grandparents where I keep myself useful with keeping house, wrangling sneaky kitties, feeding hungry puppies, cooking and writing. I’ve finally set out a posting schedule for this blog so I can be a bit more productive than before but I won’t cement it until a few months in so if I fail spectacularly at my deadline you all won’t know just how bad. I plan to be more productive writing wise this year before applying to schools in Oregon next year. I don’t want to put it off for too long but I also don’t want to make two big transitions back to back.

2014 was the year of internet awesomeness (and repulsive nastiness). I finally managed to start tweeting from my Twitter account after having it for almost a year and it has, to say the least, been interesting. It suffices to say that the internet is a weird place. I still haven’t managed to learn how to properly make my blog settings work.

My songs of 2014 had been Florence & The Machine’s “Cosmic Love” followed by “Shake It Out” the music seemed to fit in with alot of the turmoil and issues I dealt with for 2014. “Its hard to dance with a devil on your back so shake it out” Described my year far too close for comfort. I’d like to think that I shook it off and this move and everything I’ve been working for will pay off though the setback of an already missed deadline was disheartening. The noise of it blowing by was almost deafening but I recalculated and adjusted what I need to do.

So while 2014’s songs were “Cosmic Love” and “Shake It Out”; 2015 came into the world with the sounds of far off neighbors welcoming in the new year with pistols and fireworks. I hope 2015 doesn’t explode but if it does I hope it’s blooming into something amazing and brilliant and that it settles calm and quiet because my spirit animal must be a particularly twitchy kitty and I’d need calm seas to get my bearings.

When 2015 came in so bright and loud all I could think of is a need for calm, balance and productivity which is why my song for 2015 is Andrew Bird’s “Anonanimal” because I sort of want a mellow ambient year, one thats productive and hopefully happy-making. The video is a brillant example of that because of the amount of detail that went into it, its exactly how I feel about stop motion: productive, hardwork, beautifully expressive and flowing. It makes me want to work hard to make something beautiful so that maybe someone will appreciate it.

IMG_2579

2014’s final book total: 18

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll, Bantam Edition

Companions of the Night by Vivian Vande Velde

Animal Farm by George Orwell

Homeless Bird by Gloria Whelan

Instead of Three Wishes by Megan Whalen Turner

Stories for Nightime and Some for The Day by Ben Loory

Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott

The Dust of 100 Dogs by A S King

Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A S King

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

On Writing by Stephen King

The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes

DAR Comic by Erika Moen

The Less Than Epic Adventures of TJ and Amal by E K Weaver

Halloween ABC by Eve Merriam and Lane Smith

This book year seemed to be a balanced mix of new and old books but all wonderful.

